Repeat/Rappel: ” Can you Write in Coffee Shops? ” by —

Can you Write in Coffee Shops?

By on April 27, 2011 in Writing

Delicious Coffee

Delicious Coffee from http://www.sxc.hu/profile/kyrsun

This week I read a post from the Atlantic called Working Best at Coffee Shops that got me thinking about writing in coffee shops.

I have yet to master the art of writing in coffee shops. It sounds glamourous – I know so many excellent writers did it, or do it (Hemingway, Fitzgerald and Malcom Gladwell to name a few) – but I just can’t make it work for me. On several occasions now I have taken a notebook and pen to a local coffee shop, only to end up returning home with little more than a few scribbled notes. I find that although the idea of writing in a bustling environment, surrounded by interesting people and the sweet smell of coffee sounds lovely, in practice I end up distracted and self conscious. Usually by the time I finish my first cup I’m ready to head home to my computer to get some real writing done.

Hem and crew at a cafe

Hem and crew at a cafe.

I’m not giving up though! I’m taking myself on a bi-weekly artist date to a coffee shop to try and find a) the perfect place and b) the right mind set to allow me to complete some productive writing in an inspiring place.

How about you? Are you able to write in coffee shops? Where’s your favourite place to write?

About Carrie Mumford

I’m a writer and editor living in Calgary, Alberta. I write short stories and non-fiction articles, and blog about technology, editing, creativity and (of course) books!

About jeanwadier

Writer editor translator curator @ paper.li jeanwadier
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

